The Chelsea Rod and Gun Club offers Concealed Pistol License (CPL) Classes available to the public. We encourage anyone who is interested in obtaining a CPL, or even learning some good information about home defense, to attend this class. It’s a VERY valuable learning experience. Even if you do not plan to carry a concealed pistol, having a CPL also makes it easier to purchase a handgun since you are not required to obtain a purchase permit prior to purchasing. In our “First Steps” class on Friday evening from 5-8pm, students will learn the different types of firearms, how they function, and the different types of ammunition available. In our CPL Class called “Safety in the Home” on Saturday from 8:30am – 4:30pm, students will learn how to handle firearms safely in the home, and the information you need to carry a concealed pistol.
Please refer to our Calendar for the Dates and times of our CPL First Steps and CPL Classes
Both classes must be attended to receive a certificate for first time CPL.
Only the CPL class is needed for renewal of an existing CPL. The cost of the CPL class only is $25.00
The combined cost of both the CPL First Steps and CPL Classes offered by our club is $125.00
To Register or get additional Information, Please Contact:
Neil Ehnis – CPL Committee Chairman
Ph: (734) 426-2162
Send a message via the contact form or email
Some Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ):
What is a CPL? What is a CCW?
CPL stands for Concealed Pistol License. This is the correct term for the license that will actually allow you to carry a pistol concealed in Michigan. It is commonly referred to as CCW although this is inaccurate. The term CCW is actually the name of the crime of “Carrying a Concealed Weapon” as defined by law.
I don’t live in the same county where your class is being given. Is this O.K.?
Yes. The class that you are taking is called Personal Protection in the Home Course. With NRA certified instructors and training counselors, we are certified to teach this course all over the United States. This course meets the State of Michigan training requirements that you must meet in order to apply for your concealed pistol license (CPL).
How do I apply for my CPL?
First you must take you completed application along with you course completion certificate to the County Clerks Office of the county in which you reside. There, you will submit your application and pay the application fee. The county clerk will then provide you with a receipt that you will take to your local police or Sheriff’s department. There, your fingerprints will be taken and your background check will begin. Once the county gun board receives the fingerprint comparison report, they will issue or deny the license within 45 days.
How long will it take to get my CPL?
Depending on the county in which you are applying, it will take from one to three months to receive your CPL.
Are there places where I cannot carry a pistol even if I have a CPL?
Yes, there is a list of places where you are not allowed to carry your pistol. These are referred to as “Pistol Free Zones”.
Pistol Free Zones
Can someone with past misdemeanor or felonies receive a CPL?
There is a large list of misdemeanors that will disqualify from obtaining your CPL. These misdemeanors are listed on the State of Michigan Website. Any felony will disqualify you from obtaining your CPL.
Can I carry a concealed pistol with my CPL in states other than Michigan?
There are specific rules regarding “Reciprocity” with other states. If you are a Michigan resident with a Michigan concealed pistol permit and want to carry your pistol into another state you are strongly encouraged to contact that state for information on their concealed pistol law. A Michigan CPL permit does not supersede any other state’s law or CCW requirements.